For $0.99 You Can Be the Most Popular Person at Work

A big bang for just a buck

Keith Dias
3 min readAug 26, 2020
Photo by Amit Lahav on Unsplash

Shmoozing with the boss

I typed away, alone at my computer, while the sounds of laughter floated through the air, clearly originating from Joe’s cubicle two positions to my right. He was with our boss, and they seemed to be having a good time.

“What are your plans for the weekend?”, the executive jovially asked of my cubicle colleague.

They spent the next few minutes chatting about family, and about barbecues. I wondered how Joe got to be so skilled at schmoozing with the decision-makers in our company, while I sometimes struggled to get a simple email response.

5-minute smoke breaks and 5-hour rounds of golf

Whether it’s with the boss or just the accountants on the 3rd floor, there are some time-tested methods to build friendships at work. It’s no secret, for example, that many alliances are made over 5-minute smoke breaks and 5-hour rounds of golf.

“You should take up golf”, my mother would often say. “That’s how you get ahead”.

--

--

Keith Dias

Travel geek. Productivity nerd. Husband, father, son, brother, friend, joker. I once met Stevie Wonder. I’ve played competitive ball hockey for 30 years.